District City Council seats open in Weymouth 2021 elections

  • The municipal election is Tuesday, November 2
  • Polling stations will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Need to know where to vote? Call the registrar’s office at 781-340-5017
  • For more information, visit the State Elections Division website

WEYMOUTH – Races for multiple city council positions will appear on the ballot in Tuesday’s municipal election.

All the seats on Weymouth City Council are up for election, five general seats and six district seats, as are three of the six school committee seats. Of these, only the races for General Councilor, District 5 and District 6 are contested.

Six people are vying for the five open seats: Weymouth School Committee Chairperson Lisa Belmarsh; former District 1 Councilor Greg Shanahan; lawyer Ashly Eikelberg; and incumbents Fred Happel, Christopher Heffernan and Michael Molisse.

Eikelberg is a Weymouth-based lawyer who sits on the City Council for Elderly Services. Belmarsh has been a 12-year school committee member, lawyer, and director of policy and training for the State Department of Youth Services. Molisse is a retired real estate agent and design technician for National Grid who served on city council for 21 years.

Shanahan is from Weymouth and represented District 1 on City Council from 2004-2008. Happel was a member of the Weymouth Town Reunion, Campaign Manager for Mayor Robert Hedlund during his run in 2015 and City Councilor for two mandates.

“It will serve the community well”:Weymouth’s first church restores the facade of an 188-year-old building

Heffernan is a program coordinator for the State Department of Public Safety, a member of the North Weymouth Civic Association, and chair of the City Council’s Mental Health and Addiction Committee. He is running for his third term on the board.

General Councilors Becky Haugh and Jane Hackett are not seeking re-election.

Gary MacDougall and Michael Gallagher are running to represent District 5. Ed Harrington, city councilor since 2008, is not running for re-election.

Michael Gallagher and Gary MacDougall are running for the seat of District 5 City Council in Weymouth.

John Abbott and Ed Hancock are running for council seat. The District 6 seat is currently occupied by Brian Dwyer, who has been appointed by City Council to serve the remaining 19 months of former Councilor Michael Smart’s two-year term. Dwyer is not seeking to be elected.

John Abbott and Ed Hancock are running to represent District 6 on Weymouth City Council.

Outgoing school committee members Kathy Curran, Rebecca Sherlock-Shangraw and Steven Buccigross ran unopposed for three open committee seats.

Other election coverage

October 4: Columbian Square and Union Point are top priorities for Weymouth District 6 candidates

October 6: Union Point, development worries some Weymouth City Council candidates

October 7: Weymouth District 5 Council candidates focus on town development and finances

Thank you to our subscribers, who help make this coverage possible. If you are not a subscriber, please consider supporting great local journalism with a Patriot Ledger subscription. Here is our latest offer.

Daniel E. Murphy